Purchase EVERY LAST PROMISE!

Indiebound ~ Powell's Books ~ Barnes and Noble ~ Amazon

"Lyrically written and ebbing with suspense, the story of Kayla’s hometown implicates everyone involved for their silence and for the grotesque hero worship that guarantees it. Kayla’s no hero, either, and her journey to finding her truth is as authentically difficult as they come. Halbrook interleaves the stories of before and after chapter by chapter, leading characters and readers to the devastating conclusion. A devastating, important examination of the far-reaching, insidious nature of rape culture."
--Kirkus (starred review)

"EVERY LAST PROMISE is a powerful exploration of friendship and fear and what it means to stay silent in the face of injustice versus the high cost of speaking up. Kayla's search for redemption and homecoming after a night of horrific tragedy is deeply moving."    
 --Stephanie Kuehn, author of the Morris Award-winning Charm & Strange

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate's sexual assault.
Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn't supposed to. But she hasn't told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night—about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer.
Now Kayla's coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything—and everyone—she ever cared about.

Publisher: HarperTeen (April 21, 2015)
ISBN-10: 0062121294
ISBN-13: 9780062121295


Purchase Nobody But Us!
Indiebound ~ Powell's Books ~ Barnes and Noble ~ Amazon
Will
Maybe I'm too late. Maybe Zoe's dad stole all her fifteen years and taught her to be scared. I'll undo it. Help her learn to be strong again, and brave. Not that I'm any kind of example, but we can learn together. When the whole world is after you, sometimes it seems like you can't run fast enough. 
Zoe 
Maybe it'll take Will years to come to terms with being abandoned. Maybe it'll take forever. I'll stay with him no matter how long it takes to prove that people don't always leave, don't always give up on you. 

“Raw, immediate, and utterly unflinching. Halbrook’s debut features complex characters, and attempting to puzzle them out makes for a thought-provoking read.” (ALA Booklist )

“A dark, romantic wild ride reminiscent of Thelma and Louise.” (Publishers Weekly )

“How do we love and what are the consequences? Kristin Halbrook paints an edgy and vivid portrait of two troubled teens on the run. This is a gracefully written, thought-provoking and absorbing debut. . . . I haven’t read a love story quite like it before, honestly.” (Courtney Summers, author of Cracked Up to Be, Some Girls Are, and Fall for Anything )

“Beautiful, heartbreaking, and exhilarating—NOBODY BUT US will have you holding your breath until the very last page.” (Kody Keplinger, author of The DUFF and A Midsummer’s Nightmare )

“An achingly believable love story about two teens outrunning a society that has failed them, hoping the lights at the end of the highway aren’t just a mirage. Tense, lyrical and heartbreaking; the kind of book that lingers a long time.” (Kirsten Hubbard, author of Wanderlove and Like Mandarin )

Publisher: HarperTeen (January 29, 2013)
ISBN-10: 006212126X
ISBN-13: 978-0062121264 




Complex Chinese Rights to Ecus Publishing House
French Rights to Albin Michel
German Rights to Heyne Fliegt
Film Rights to Haven Entertainment
For further rights inquiries for these books, contact Suzie Townsend: Suzie@NewLeafLiterary.com